top of page

A Look back in the years

Updated: May 8, 2023

Lambeth council

I started working in vauxhall Park, as a general c grade gardener helping out the rest of my colleges maintaining the grounds.





My duties were pretty specific, mowing and weeding the beds.

But as I became more established I was sent to a day school to learn more.

Where I finally became a craft man gardener skilled in all the essential gardening chores that is needed for Park maintenance

Then in the late 70s and early 80s I enrolled to take my city and guilds which was to launch my career further.

By then Lambeth was about to crumble with the demolishing of the Greater London Council and with that followed chaos as more open spaces where allocated to the councils including Lambeth.

It was then that I decided to move elsewhere before the final impact happens.

So in the mid 80s I started to look for a another job. By luck I came across an advert in a horticultural magazine for a gardener in Kensington



In the following week I received a confirmation letter saying that I got the job as a assistant chargehand.

Here my duties were more complex than general garden duties.

And more in line with conservation of the long water and bedding schemes for the Italian fountain as well as taking charge when the charge hand


22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page